IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Unclickable Links., Most likely an ad thing...
Massacre
post May 11 2010, 08:39 PM
Post #1


Warlord of the Wastes.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 3,141
Joined: 14-October 04
From: Leichenstadt, State of Massacre, in the Warlord Empire
Member No.: 2,470
XBL Gamertag: WarlordMassacre
PSN Name: Warlord_Massacre



So, everything on here is unclickable for me, from the top of the page down to the General Discussion tab on the forum index, and it does this on every page, meaning I can't click the topics in the new posts index or anything else on the top half of any of the pages on the site. It's kind of like an invisible version of the problems with the rollover ads on the top of the page. I'm not sure how else to describe this...

It's kind of off and on, but it's always the Alan Wake ad when it does happen. Fuck it, this ad business is never going to stop.

This post has been edited by Massacre: May 11 2010, 09:18 PM


--------------------
QUOTE (Darth Sexy @ Sep 12 2009, 03:43 AM) *
Massacre, you make me look like a rational, moral, kind person.
QUOTE (Marney1 @ Oct 26 2009, 01:22 PM) *
Massacre - What you've just posted is sick and disturbing...
QUOTE (ViceMan @ Jan 17 2010, 04:22 PM) *
When Massacre is around, everything is violated... Whether it likes it or not.
QUOTE (ViceMan @ Mar 6 2011, 09:40 AM) *
Whenever I think of "human resources" Massacre immediately springs to mind.


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Massacre
post May 12 2010, 01:27 AM
Post #2


Warlord of the Wastes.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 3,141
Joined: 14-October 04
From: Leichenstadt, State of Massacre, in the Warlord Empire
Member No.: 2,470
XBL Gamertag: WarlordMassacre
PSN Name: Warlord_Massacre



Well, I assumed it was related to the ads, and nothing ad-related ever gets fixed, so I closed it.


--------------------
QUOTE (Darth Sexy @ Sep 12 2009, 03:43 AM) *
Massacre, you make me look like a rational, moral, kind person.
QUOTE (Marney1 @ Oct 26 2009, 01:22 PM) *
Massacre - What you've just posted is sick and disturbing...
QUOTE (ViceMan @ Jan 17 2010, 04:22 PM) *
When Massacre is around, everything is violated... Whether it likes it or not.
QUOTE (ViceMan @ Mar 6 2011, 09:40 AM) *
Whenever I think of "human resources" Massacre immediately springs to mind.


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
demon
post May 12 2010, 01:46 AM
Post #3


Capo
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,084
Joined: 29-August 08
From: underworld
Member No.: 42,672



QUOTE (Massacre @ May 12 2010, 03:27 AM) *
Well, I assumed it was related to the ads, and nothing ad-related ever gets fixed, so I closed it.

Like that was a reason to lock it? I was preparing a reply when I realized it had been locked. rolleyes.gif


Why are people not using an ad-blocker? I have never seen one ad here so when I read about ad problems here I go "wtf - ads, here?".

But I looked in the log file and I find SEVEN items blocked each time I load the main forum page.
I use the Norton ad-blocker, but it's possible to use the HOSTS file too.

Here's what my ad-blocker blocks on the main forum page:

QUOTE
Script
-Reason: "/ad."

A href='http://ad.doubleclick.net/adj/ugo.soccergaming.gta4tv.games/games;affiliate=soccergaming;subaffiliate=gta4tv;channel=games;subchannel=games;
category=tic;pt=hp;pez=tic;sz=728x90;ord=123456789?'
-Reason: "/ad."

IMG src='http://ad.doubleclick.net/adj/ugo.soccergaming.gta4tv.games/games;affiliate=soccergaming;subaffiliate=gta4tv;channel=games;subchannel=games;
category=tic;pt=hp;pez=tic;sz=728x90;ord=123456789?'
-Reason: "/ad."

Script
-Reason: "/ad."

A href='http://ad.doubleclick.net/adj/ugo.soccergaming.gta4tv.games/games;affiliate=soccergaming;subaffiliate=gta4tv;channel=games;subchannel=games;
category=tic;pt=hp;pez=tic;sz=300x250;ord=123456789?'
-Reason: "/ad."

IMG src='http://ad.doubleclick.net/adj/ugo.soccergaming.gta4tv.games/games;affiliate=soccergaming;subaffiliate=gta4tv;channel=games;subchannel=games;
category=tic;pt=hp;pez=tic;sz=300x250;ord=123456789?'
-Reason: "/ad."

Script
-Reason: "google-analytics.com"



I am guessing adding any "doubleclick" domain and the google adservers to your HOSTS file would help.

I'm using the HOSTS file as well, and it is probably blocking some stuff too, but what is blocked there won't show in the Norton ad-block log file.

This post has been edited by demon: May 12 2010, 01:47 AM


--------------------
The new GTA 5 website. GTA 5 forums.
QUOTE (Marney1 @ Jan 31 2010, 06:37 AM) *

That's for you ^
Use it in your sig or avatar because you are very special.

QUOTE (TF)
for being a little bitch
Edited by TF.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 08:20 PM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4