IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Update my Laptop
Heartless
post Feb 19 2010, 04:09 AM
Post #1


The universe goes on forever and we are alone
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 937
Joined: 3-October 04
From: Disney World: Dahmerland!
Member No.: 2,164



So, I know this sounds crazy, but this is my first PC. Ever. I've always used a Mac. And now I want to update it. Money is not a problem. What hardware should I get?

I have:
AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core QL-65
3.7 GB RAM
Windows 7 Home, premium, 64 bit
ATI display adapter

The video card is shit, yeah, I know. But what else should I get?


--------------------



QUOTE (Qdeathstar @ Mar 13 2009, 01:45 AM) *
The reason is that when heartless says something stupid, he really means it and believes it.

“They refer to me as an uneducated barbarian. Yes, we are barbarians. We want to be barbarians, it is an honored title to us. We shall rejuvenate the world. This world is near its end.”

Die Zeiten haben sich geändert.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DonkeyTits
post Feb 19 2010, 05:30 AM
Post #2


Clepto
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 152
Joined: 2-August 04
From: California
Member No.: 81



You're going to buy a new laptop? What do you/won't you be doing with it?
Must it be a laptop or can it be a desktop?


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Heartless
post Feb 19 2010, 09:04 AM
Post #3


The universe goes on forever and we are alone
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 937
Joined: 3-October 04
From: Disney World: Dahmerland!
Member No.: 2,164



QUOTE (DonkeyTits @ Feb 19 2010, 12:30 AM) *
You're going to buy a new laptop? What do you/won't you be doing with it?
Must it be a laptop or can it be a desktop?


Oh yeah, I wasn't very clear in the OP, was I? I don't need a new laptop, it's only three months old. But all the hardware on it is shit already and I'd like to start replacing it with more game friendly stuff. The RAM I've heard is not too shabby, but I really need a better video card.


--------------------



QUOTE (Qdeathstar @ Mar 13 2009, 01:45 AM) *
The reason is that when heartless says something stupid, he really means it and believes it.

“They refer to me as an uneducated barbarian. Yes, we are barbarians. We want to be barbarians, it is an honored title to us. We shall rejuvenate the world. This world is near its end.”

Die Zeiten haben sich geändert.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spoiler
post Feb 20 2010, 03:22 AM
Post #4


Numbers Runner
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 264
Joined: 18-November 05
Member No.: 26,196



AMD Athlon processors are shitty, known to be slower than Intel. get an Intel Core 2 Quad or even Core 2 Duo.
for graphic card, NVIDIA is best for gaming, game developers are partner with them anyway..
take a look around here. i suggest get a 1024MB graphic card so that you don't need to change for next couple of years.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DonkeyTits
post Feb 21 2010, 09:43 AM
Post #5


Clepto
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 152
Joined: 2-August 04
From: California
Member No.: 81



It's a tough call. You just bought the thing but now you would need to put a substantial amount of money into it for upgrades. My painful suggestion is to sell it and just buy another.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sharpie Fetish
post Mar 21 2010, 08:50 PM
Post #6


Litterer
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 55
Joined: 20-January 07
Member No.: 34,595



The main thought about upgrading laptops is dont do it. Its hard, Hard to find parts, expensive and not stable. Laptops allready struggle with heat dispersion. Putting better components in if you find any puts out more heat and can cause slow down or hardware failure
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Heartless
post Mar 22 2010, 12:16 AM
Post #7


The universe goes on forever and we are alone
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 937
Joined: 3-October 04
From: Disney World: Dahmerland!
Member No.: 2,164



Yeah, I have that problem. It tends to shut off if I watch movies in bed. I think I'll just get a second desktop and call it a night.


--------------------



QUOTE (Qdeathstar @ Mar 13 2009, 01:45 AM) *
The reason is that when heartless says something stupid, he really means it and believes it.

“They refer to me as an uneducated barbarian. Yes, we are barbarians. We want to be barbarians, it is an honored title to us. We shall rejuvenate the world. This world is near its end.”

Die Zeiten haben sich geändert.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pieface
post Mar 22 2010, 02:04 AM
Post #8


Jailbird
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 487
Joined: 25-August 05
From: Wirral, England.
Member No.: 23,545



If you're wanting to upgrade you're Laptop, I hope you have big money. Graphics Card is usually attatched to the motherboard, or soldered in, so to get a new one would cost a fair bit of money and work. Don't have a clue what your Motherboard is so don't know what Processors it would take.

To be honest, only real significant upgrade you can do now is replace your HDD with a Solid State one for faster loading.


--------------------
YES I don't play Xbox 360 anymore.

Add me on steam BITCHES. Pieface876
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sharpie Fetish
post Mar 22 2010, 05:17 PM
Post #9


Litterer
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 55
Joined: 20-January 07
Member No.: 34,595



QUOTE (Stinger. @ Mar 22 2010, 02:04 AM) *
If you're wanting to upgrade you're Laptop, I hope you have big money. Graphics Card is usually attatched to the motherboard, or soldered in, so to get a new one would cost a fair bit of money and work. Don't have a clue what your Motherboard is so don't know what Processors it would take.

To be honest, only real significant upgrade you can do now is replace your HDD with a Solid State one for faster loading.


Its not a matter of them being soldered in. If they were you could remove them. If the graphics arent onboard then its using a seperate graphics card and that graphics card in shape is usually designed to fit to that laptop and none others.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 3rd September 2014 - 07:21 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4