IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Will it run?
StickerBook
post Dec 20 2009, 06:47 PM
Post #1


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-December 09
Member No.: 57,276
XBL Gamertag: ryan307
PSN Name: StickerBook



I'm planning on getting a new PC with the intention of gaming. I intent to replace the graphics card and the PSU so I can play pretty much anything. A game I've always wanted to play on it is San Andreas for the modding and multiplayer capabilities. I figured since laptops can run it, so should my PC out of the box. The main issue I have is the graphics card. The PC uses an integrated Nvidia 7100 card. Now I as far as I'm aware, there's a spare PCI slot to upgrade the graphics but I won't be able to for a while due to financial constraints.

Here's a link to the PC so you can check out the rest of the specs.
http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/store/pcw...p;category_oid=

I also heard that there were some issues with compatibility with Windows Vista, does anyone know how well it runs on Windows 7? Thanks in advance for your help.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wizer
post Dec 20 2009, 08:48 PM
Post #2


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-December 09
Member No.: 57,277



QUOTE (StickerBook @ Dec 20 2009, 11:47 AM) *
I'm planning on getting a new PC with the intention of gaming. I intent to replace the graphics card and the PSU so I can play pretty much anything. A game I've always wanted to play on it is San Andreas for the modding and multiplayer capabilities. I figured since laptops can run it, so should my PC out of the box. The main issue I have is the graphics card. The PC uses an integrated Nvidia 7100 card. Now I as far as I'm aware, there's a spare PCI slot to upgrade the graphics but I won't be able to for a while due to financial constraints.

Here's a link to the PC so you can check out the rest of the specs.
http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/store/pcw...p;category_oid=

I also heard that there were some issues with compatibility with Windows Vista, does anyone know how well it runs on Windows 7? Thanks in advance for your help.


I just got a new pc running windows 7 and GTA:SA won't start. Screen blacks out for a second then goes back to desktop with no error message at all sad.gif

Game played fine on a pc running xp and on my laptop running vista. I sent an email to rockstar tech. but haven't received a reply as yet. If anyone knows what might be wrong I would like to hear.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StickerBook
post Dec 20 2009, 09:18 PM
Post #3


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-December 09
Member No.: 57,276
XBL Gamertag: ryan307
PSN Name: StickerBook



This doesn't fill me with hope at all. Minusing the Windows, do you think the graphics card can handle it?

EDIT- Have you tried uptdating the drivers/running in compatibility mode? I did a little research and these seem to be the main fixes. Also reinstalling after updating the drivers helps.

This post has been edited by StickerBook: Dec 20 2009, 09:38 PM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Awesome One
post Dec 20 2009, 10:29 PM
Post #4


Poshboy...
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,234
Joined: 1-March 09
From: London,England
Member No.: 49,030
XBL Gamertag: the mighty moa



QUOTE (StickerBook @ Dec 20 2009, 09:18 PM) *
This doesn't fill me with hope at all. Minusing the Windows, do you think the graphics card can handle it?

EDIT- Have you tried uptdating the drivers/running in compatibility mode? I did a little research and these seem to be the main fixes. Also reinstalling after updating the drivers helps.

Your card should be able to manage the amin game, not sure about mods though.


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StickerBook
post Dec 20 2009, 10:32 PM
Post #5


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-December 09
Member No.: 57,276
XBL Gamertag: ryan307
PSN Name: StickerBook



Hmm, well would it be able to handle the multiplayer?

I can see it not handling some car mods because I've seen some pretty high res cars in videos.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Awesome One
post Dec 20 2009, 11:18 PM
Post #6


Poshboy...
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,234
Joined: 1-March 09
From: London,England
Member No.: 49,030
XBL Gamertag: the mighty moa



QUOTE (StickerBook @ Dec 20 2009, 10:32 PM) *
Hmm, well would it be able to handle the multiplayer?

Probably not. I think you have to have a good PC for that. It works for me but I dont even know my own specs so I wont be able to tell you what I have.


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StickerBook
post Dec 20 2009, 11:30 PM
Post #7


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-December 09
Member No.: 57,276
XBL Gamertag: ryan307
PSN Name: StickerBook



Well the PC will be a quad core with 4GB ram...so graphics shouldn't be an issue for a multiplayer mod?

This post has been edited by StickerBook: Dec 20 2009, 11:45 PM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Weasel
post Dec 21 2009, 07:02 AM
Post #8


Snitch
*

Group: Validating
Posts: 178
Joined: 19-September 05
From: Meriden
Member No.: 24,529



The available Version 2 will not allow Modding without changing the programing.
You should GOOGLE for information as most Forums arn't allowed to speak about how to make the Version 2 game modable.
Windows 7, and Vista can play the game. You may have to run it in a compatability mode of 98 or XP.

This post has been edited by Weasel: Dec 21 2009, 01:56 PM


--------------------
************* Game Hints *************
Don't go Mission to Mission. Spend time just looking around, behind walls/bushes, on roofs, under bridges. Explore the Car park buildings and anyother building you can enter...
Do the Gang Tags, Photo's, Horseshes as soon as you can.
NO Cheats -- NO Mods
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StickerBook
post Dec 21 2009, 12:00 PM
Post #9


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-December 09
Member No.: 57,276
XBL Gamertag: ryan307
PSN Name: StickerBook



Odd since there's a section on the official SA website that gives a list of websites that have unofficial mods but I'm not the type to argue.

As long as the graphics card can handle the game, because I'm pretty sure the other aspects of the PC are more than good enough. smile.gif
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Awesome One
post Dec 21 2009, 12:13 PM
Post #10


Poshboy...
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,234
Joined: 1-March 09
From: London,England
Member No.: 49,030
XBL Gamertag: the mighty moa



QUOTE (StickerBook @ Dec 21 2009, 12:00 PM) *
Odd since there's a section on the official SA website that gives a list of websites that have unofficial mods but I'm not the type to argue.

As long as the graphics card can handle the game, because I'm pretty sure the other aspects of the PC are more than good enough. smile.gif

Just be careful with what you download.


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StickerBook
post Dec 21 2009, 12:25 PM
Post #11


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-December 09
Member No.: 57,276
XBL Gamertag: ryan307
PSN Name: StickerBook



I always am haha. Thanks for the help so far guys.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DANNY B0Y
post Dec 21 2009, 01:10 PM
Post #12


Ruffian
***

Group: Members
Posts: 374
Joined: 11-September 09
Member No.: 56,550



QUOTE (Wizer @ Dec 20 2009, 08:48 PM) *
QUOTE (StickerBook @ Dec 20 2009, 11:47 AM) *
I'm planning on getting a new PC with the intention of gaming. I intent to replace the graphics card and the PSU so I can play pretty much anything. A game I've always wanted to play on it is San Andreas for the modding and multiplayer capabilities. I figured since laptops can run it, so should my PC out of the box. The main issue I have is the graphics card. The PC uses an integrated Nvidia 7100 card. Now I as far as I'm aware, there's a spare PCI slot to upgrade the graphics but I won't be able to for a while due to financial constraints.

Here's a link to the PC so you can check out the rest of the specs.
http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/store/pcw...p;category_oid=

I also heard that there were some issues with compatibility with Windows Vista, does anyone know how well it runs on Windows 7? Thanks in advance for your help.


I just got a new pc running windows 7 and GTA:SA won't start. Screen blacks out for a second then goes back to desktop with no error message at all sad.gif

Game played fine on a pc running xp and on my laptop running vista. I sent an email to rockstar tech. but haven't received a reply as yet. If anyone knows what might be wrong I would like to hear.


Sometimes GTA can only run on certain formats. 7 is the newer version, so maybe that's the problem - the PC won't run it.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 03:43 PM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4