IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> NVIDIA releases drivers optimized for GTA IV, Forceware 180.84
CygnusX
post Dec 7 2008, 01:22 PM
Post #1


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 5-February 05
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 9,344



The folks at NVIDIA have released a new beta-driver package, Forceware 180.84, specifically optimized for use in Grand Theft Auto 4 on PC.

Improvement in frames per second varies from just a few to over 10. More than enough to give these drivers a try if you feel GTA4's performance is letting you down.

Head on over to www.nzone.com and grab your driver package. Be sure to share your results in our forums!


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DiO
post Dec 7 2008, 05:19 PM
Post #2


Forgot about member titles for awhile there...
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 735
Joined: 12-September 04
From: Canawda
Member No.: 1,564



CygnusX back and posting t3h news. Well hazaah!


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scruffyscruffy
post Dec 7 2008, 06:38 PM
Post #3


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 2-September 07
From: New York
Member No.: 37,513



Is this game just for GTA4 or does ot work with anything?
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CygnusX
post Dec 7 2008, 06:50 PM
Post #4


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 5-February 05
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 9,344



QUOTE(scruffyscruffy @ Dec 7 2008, 07:38 PM) [snapback]1474269[/snapback]
Is this game just for GTA4 or does ot work with anything?

If by 'game' you mean 'drivers' then yes it works with anything, but especially well (or allegedly) with GTA4.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scruffyscruffy
post Dec 7 2008, 06:56 PM
Post #5


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 2-September 07
From: New York
Member No.: 37,513



yea, thats what I meant.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheAnalogKid2112
post Dec 8 2008, 04:10 AM
Post #6


Oh boy! Oberto! Penis! Bundt cake! D-O's Can
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 512
Joined: 27-April 08
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 39,933
PSN Name: TheAnalogKid2112



I love you scruffyscruffy!!


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thrifty94
post Dec 9 2008, 05:30 PM
Post #7


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-December 08
Member No.: 44,753



still failing to load polygons
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HEAT84
post Dec 13 2008, 02:42 AM
Post #8


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-June 05
Member No.: 13,927



Does GTA IV support Physx? Anybody know anything about Physx? I never heard of it until I installed these drivers. I guess it couldn't hurt to enable it?

In the Nvidia settings where you can custimize settings for diferent games, it has Grand Theft Auto 4(gtaiv.exe) and Grand Theft Auto 4 (launchgtaiv.exe). WTF?? When I check "Show only programs installed on this computer" , the gtaiv.exe one disappears. I thought launchgtaiv.exe was just Securom in disguise.

Edit: this new forum software must have an anti-double posting feature. I did reply but it added to my previous post instead. ohmy.gif I hit the back button to make sure I wasn't crazy.

This post has been edited by HEAT84: Dec 13 2008, 02:53 AM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SJActress
post Dec 27 2008, 05:47 PM
Post #9


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 27-December 08
Member No.: 45,918



While I own a desktop, for some reason, it has a laptop graphics card (Nvidia Geforce Go 7600). According to Can You Run It, my graphics card isn't actually good enough anyway, but I was wondering if I should bother installing this download at all.

The game runs on my system, but like many people, I can only see the car and it's immediate surroundings. I can't see enough to actually drive it anywhere.

I can never get an answer from Nvidia about this, as my desktop seems to be the only one in the WORLD with a laptop graphics card (shipped that way).

ETA: I decided to give this driver a go. It's telling me that the driver is only supposed to be used on a Vista 32-bit system, and the install terminates. Fair enough, except that my OS is Vista 32-bit!

This post has been edited by SJActress: Dec 27 2008, 06:31 PM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2014 - 09:09 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4