IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Building a PC, From scratch
DuPz0r
post Aug 12 2008, 01:26 PM
Post #21


Still Standing
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 1,433
Joined: 3-August 04
From: London, England
Member No.: 439
PSN Name: BushkaUK



Oh right, i missed that. So it wouldn't effect the performance of 32-bit vista what so ever? If that's the case, I'll get the 4GB.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ophis-
post Aug 12 2008, 01:32 PM
Post #22


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Validating
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-November 04
From: Manchester, England
Member No.: 5,815
PSN Name: ophis-



This is actually turning into a decent thread, ive just learnt a nice chunk of info and in the future when im after a custom tower im gonna report back here! haha.


--------------------
[meh]
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Severus Snape
post Aug 12 2008, 07:56 PM
Post #23


Litterer


Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
Member No.: 28,564



QUOTE(DuPz0rô @ Aug 11 2008, 01:30 PM) [snapback]1458898[/snapback]
Ok, i spent some more time looking around and i made a new list. Tell me if this is a good price, and if the components are good;

Asrock WOLFDALE1333-GLAN/M2 i945GC Socket 775 Motherboard - £27.40
Thermaltake TR2 RX W0146 450W Modular PSU - £29.07
XFX Geforce 8500GT 512MB DDR2 PCI-E (Passive) - £29.95
Arianet 1GB PC2-6400 DDR2 SDRAM - £9.95
Arianet 2GB PC2-6400 DDR2 SDRAM - £14.95
Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 2.53GHz (Retail 775) - £66.95
500Gb Western Digital SATA2 - 16MB - 7200RPM - £38.50
X-Blade MIDI Tower Case - Silver - £26.50


Cart Total £243.27
VAT £42.57
Total £285.84

3GB of DDR2 because i'm using Vista 32-bit

Leave comments.

1. No optical (cd/dvd) drives? How do you plan on installing Vista?
2. No floppy drive? How do you plan on doing initial boot and partitioning of drives?
3. No keyboard/mouse combo?
4. Any other peripheral devices (printer, joystick, midi, etc.)?
5. No sound card? You really going to trust the on-board sound on this rig?

And agreed on the 8500. The performance is terrible and isn't worth the money you would spend on it.

This post has been edited by Ashley Graham: Aug 12 2008, 07:57 PM


--------------------
QUOTE (Massacre @ Mar 14 2011, 02:10 PM) *
We're more than capable of answering you, we're just not doing it because you're being a cunt, and it's you specifically we don't care about, we do care about the rest of the forums.


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FuddMan
post Aug 12 2008, 08:02 PM
Post #24


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 28-August 04
From: Maidstone, England
Member No.: 1,351



If he isn't going to do any hardcore gaming, onboard sound will be enough. Also, a floppy drive? Are you kidding? Floppy drives are obsolete now, everything is done on CDs and DVDs (and USB sticks).


--------------------
QUOTE (Psy)
Well, I must be honest, I do occasionally have the odd night off where I stick my fingers in as many pussy's as I can
php stands for psy humping pussy


zomg it's DuffMan's clone.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Aug 12 2008, 11:24 PM
Post #25


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



QUOTE(DuPz0rô @ Aug 12 2008, 09:26 AM) [snapback]1459013[/snapback]
Oh right, i missed that. So it wouldn't effect the performance of 32-bit vista what so ever? If that's the case, I'll get the 4GB.



Having 4GB of memory won't affect anything besides your wallet. Even if Vista doesn't recognize the full 4GB, it will still work just fine. The only difference is, you would have paid for 4GB and only be able to use about 3 to 3.5GB of it.

Duffman must have found a way around this problem because Microsoft seems to agree with me as well. Note that under WORKAROUND the very last bullet point says "An x64 (64-bit) version of Windows Vista must be used".
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DuPz0r
post Aug 13 2008, 03:41 AM
Post #26


Still Standing
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 1,433
Joined: 3-August 04
From: London, England
Member No.: 439
PSN Name: BushkaUK



QUOTE(Ashley Graham @ Aug 12 2008, 08:56 PM) [snapback]1459100[/snapback]
1. No optical (cd/dvd) drives? How do you plan on installing Vista?
2. No floppy drive? How do you plan on doing initial boot and partitioning of drives?
3. No keyboard/mouse combo?
4. Any other peripheral devices (printer, joystick, midi, etc.)?
5. No sound card? You really going to trust the on-board sound on this rig?

And agreed on the 8500. The performance is terrible and isn't worth the money you would spend on it.


I have those parts laying about the house no worries.


QUOTE(FrankCastle @ Aug 13 2008, 12:24 AM) [snapback]1459137[/snapback]
Having 4GB of memory won't affect anything besides your wallet. Even if Vista doesn't recognize the full 4GB, it will still work just fine. The only difference is, you would have paid for 4GB and only be able to use about 3 to 3.5GB of it.

Duffman must have found a way around this problem because Microsoft seems to agree with me as well. Note that under WORKAROUND the very last bullet point says "An x64 (64-bit) version of Windows Vista must be used".


Well i'm better off buying as much memory as my motherboard can support, saves me updating it at a later date.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Severus Snape
post Aug 13 2008, 11:44 AM
Post #27


Litterer


Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
Member No.: 28,564



QUOTE(DuffMan @ Aug 12 2008, 03:02 PM) [snapback]1459103[/snapback]
If he isn't going to do any hardcore gaming, onboard sound will be enough. Also, a floppy drive? Are you kidding? Floppy drives are obsolete now, everything is done on CDs and DVDs (and USB sticks).

I won't argue with you on that. However, nothing beats having a Windows 9x/NT/2000/XP bootable floppy disk, especially when you are doing a clean install and want to partition first. Besides - they're cheap. And I still have games on 3.5 inch diskettes, so I'll never get rid of mine.


--------------------
QUOTE (Massacre @ Mar 14 2011, 02:10 PM) *
We're more than capable of answering you, we're just not doing it because you're being a cunt, and it's you specifically we don't care about, we do care about the rest of the forums.


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ophis-
post Aug 13 2008, 12:00 PM
Post #28


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Validating
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-November 04
From: Manchester, England
Member No.: 5,815
PSN Name: ophis-



QUOTE(Ashley Graham @ Aug 13 2008, 12:44 PM) [snapback]1459212[/snapback]
QUOTE(DuffMan @ Aug 12 2008, 03:02 PM) [snapback]1459103[/snapback]
If he isn't going to do any hardcore gaming, onboard sound will be enough. Also, a floppy drive? Are you kidding? Floppy drives are obsolete now, everything is done on CDs and DVDs (and USB sticks).

I won't argue with you on that. However, nothing beats having a Windows 9x/NT/2000/XP bootable floppy disk, especially when you are doing a clean install and want to partition first. Besides - they're cheap. And I still have games on 3.5 inch diskettes, so I'll never get rid of mine.


I use an exturnal USB Floppy drive. Works a charm on the computers and laptops i have without a floopy drive.


--------------------
[meh]
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Aug 13 2008, 11:18 PM
Post #29


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



The floppy drive is not needed, but since you have one laying around it doesn't hurt to put it to use. They have proven to be useful on rare occasions.

It's kinda funny because floppy drives are pretty much obsolete but motherboard manufacturers refuse to build boards without that little connector on there. So they are not truly gone till those motherboard connectors are gone.

This post has been edited by FrankCastle: Aug 13 2008, 11:21 PM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DuPz0r
post Aug 20 2008, 05:59 PM
Post #30


Still Standing
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 1,433
Joined: 3-August 04
From: London, England
Member No.: 439
PSN Name: BushkaUK



Is the ATI Radeon HD 3650 512MB PCI-E any good for £38.89 inc. VAT ???
Because i have the money to buy it on friday, i want to double check, to see if anything sucks...

This is my list now:

Asrock WOLFDALE1333-GLAN/M2 i945GC Socket 775 Motherboard - £27.40
Thermaltake TR2 RX W0146 450W Modular PSU - £29.07
ATI Radeon HD 3650 512MB PCI-E - £33.10
Arianet 2GB PC2-6400 DDR2 SDRAM - £14.95
Arianet 2GB PC2-6400 DDR2 SDRAM - £14.95
Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 2.53GHz (Retail 775) - £66.95
500Gb Western Digital SATA2 - 16MB - 7200RPM - £38.50
X-Blade MIDI Tower Case - Silver - £26.50

Cart Total £255.53
VAT £44.72
Total £300.25


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psychÝ
post Aug 24 2008, 09:45 PM
Post #31


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 26-August 04
From: The Steel City, England
Member No.: 1,279



Not a necessity but having a small 10,000 RPM hard drive for the OS and like your 5 favourite games is good as it speeds up the boot time and the OS generally.



--------------------

Dragonfly
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
In Kontrol
post Aug 26 2008, 10:59 PM
Post #32


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 1-March 08
From: Carlisle, UK
Member No.: 38,653



Don't mean to hi-jack the thread but I've been thinking the same to be honest. Something high end but not high on price. scooter.gif

Intel Quad Core Q6600 2.4GHz S775 £113.25
Gigabyte S775 Intel P35 DDR2 ATX Audio Lan £76.36
OCZ Technology 2x2GB 240DIMM PC2-6400 Gold £51.52
Corsair Memory 620 Watt, ATX, EPS12V, PS/2, £84.30
Western Digital Caviar 750GB 7200RPM S300 16MB £67.97
Samsung RETAIL 20X DVD WRITER SATA LIGHTSCRIBE NERO £17.37

Haven't decided on the rest yet but it all seems pretty low budget at the minute. Jumpy.gif
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GTA 4EVER
post Oct 6 2008, 09:43 AM
Post #33


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 11-September 08
From: Jakarta,Indonesia
Member No.: 42,803



its too late to say now, but all of ur spec is good. a good decision to buy it.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 3rd September 2014 - 12:14 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4