IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> PS3 Issue, wont download
calimann83
post Apr 29 2008, 08:23 AM
Post #1


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 18-October 04
From: SO-CAL
Member No.: 2,689



yeah so it gets about halfway thru the download, thenit just stops. anyone else having this issue. Its kind of pissing me off.

This post has been edited by calimann83: Apr 29 2008, 08:24 AM


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The_Technician
post Apr 29 2008, 08:26 AM
Post #2


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 24-March 08
Member No.: 38,857



ohmy.gif really?

shiiiiit
i'm freaking out now!


--------------------
=The Technician=

Since 24.03.08
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aussie_b8ler
post Apr 29 2008, 08:27 AM
Post #3


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 1-April 08
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 38,947



this happens sometimes. you just need to cancel and retry until it works.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darchi19
post Apr 29 2008, 08:53 AM
Post #4


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-April 08
Member No.: 39,026



no prob with mine , didnt even have enough time to kook at the sweet guite to LC the game comes with

so glad the ps3 one is in 1080i , someone told me it was only 720p
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caliph
post Apr 29 2008, 08:55 AM
Post #5


Nobody Special


Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Liberty City
Member No.: 38,605



^The native resolution is 720p, I think, or lower. Could you check the back of the box and tell us what's the native resolution?

Also, are you guys talking about the installation or some download Im not aware about?


--------------------
Playstation 3 80GB | Grand Theft Auto IV | Sony HDTV
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asthenia
post Apr 29 2008, 09:06 AM
Post #6


Psy is gay and stupid.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 579
Joined: 3-August 04
From: UK.
Member No.: 424
XBL Gamertag: aVarkatzas
PSN Name: Asthenia



Installation, and the box says 720p.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caliph
post Apr 29 2008, 09:08 AM
Post #7


Nobody Special


Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Liberty City
Member No.: 38,605



^In that case, all those rumors about the game playing on a 630p native resolution were false.


--------------------
Playstation 3 80GB | Grand Theft Auto IV | Sony HDTV
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asthenia
post Apr 29 2008, 09:10 AM
Post #8


Psy is gay and stupid.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 579
Joined: 3-August 04
From: UK.
Member No.: 424
XBL Gamertag: aVarkatzas
PSN Name: Asthenia



I never believed them anyway, but the box would say 720p regardless. smile.gif


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
calimann83
post Apr 29 2008, 09:10 AM
Post #9


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 18-October 04
From: SO-CAL
Member No.: 2,689



yeah it works great now.

I never doubted that it would be 1080


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The_Technician
post Apr 29 2008, 09:25 AM
Post #10


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 24-March 08
Member No.: 38,857



for a noob, what is 1080i and 720p?


--------------------
=The Technician=

Since 24.03.08
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caliph
post Apr 29 2008, 09:33 AM
Post #11


Nobody Special


Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Liberty City
Member No.: 38,605



^So I take it youre enjoying it now? smile.gif

BTW - I spoke to one of my friends who bought the PS3 version, he said he faced a similar thing during the installation. It stopped half-way through but he waited for a couple of minutes and then the installation continued.

Cancelling and retrying the installation should help it work the second time but if you stayed patient through the first installation it wouldve continued by itself. Theres something about the 50% mark, I think thats where most of the files get unloaded which explains why it gets slow midway through the download. But it wouldve continued in both cases. Just thought Id like to share that out. smile.gif

QUOTE(The_Technician @ Apr 29 2008, 12:25 PM) [snapback]1425785[/snapback]
for a noob, what is 1080i and 720p?

Those are the various screen resolutions you could play your game with.

Theres:
480p
720p
1080p

There were rumors going around the net last night which said the native screen resolution for the PS3 is lower than the Xbox360 (630p instead of 720p). Those rumors turned out to be false since one of our members confirmed that the back of the box mentioned the native resolution to be 720p - similar to the Xbox360.

This means the PS3 version and Xbox360 both have the same native screen resolutions, however, you are free to upscale or downscale the resolutions to 480p or 1080p depending on your taste.

Also, theres nothing wrong with the installation process. If it doesnt work the first time, you could simply retry the installation or wait a few minutes and the installation would continue by itself. Sometimes it stops midway through the process because of unloading so many files, a little patience would do the trick. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Caliph: Apr 29 2008, 09:34 AM


--------------------
Playstation 3 80GB | Grand Theft Auto IV | Sony HDTV
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The_Technician
post Apr 29 2008, 09:35 AM
Post #12


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 24-March 08
Member No.: 38,857



Much thanks


--------------------
=The Technician=

Since 24.03.08
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TommyVercettiPiz...
post Apr 29 2008, 11:34 AM
Post #13


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 26-October 04
Member No.: 3,146



Installation? Downloading? I'm used to the PS2, where you just pop in the disc and play, is it different on PS3 or something? :S
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caliph
post Apr 29 2008, 11:40 AM
Post #14


Nobody Special


Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Liberty City
Member No.: 38,605



^Theres a five minute installation which is mandatory. Don't get me wrong, though, a lot of people especially those who own the xbox360 speculated that its got to do with the Bluray disc being slow. In reality, however, it was just a decision which the PS3 development team took that they thought would further enhance the gameplay's loading time as a precautious measurement. Even if installation wasnt mandatory, which Im sure couldve easily been the case seeing as they werent forced to take this action, Im sure the game wouldve ran just fine. But for the time being you could say five minutes of installation is well worth the wait considering the fact the game handles a lot better than Microsoft's version.

This post has been edited by Caliph: Apr 29 2008, 11:41 AM


--------------------
Playstation 3 80GB | Grand Theft Auto IV | Sony HDTV
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TommyVercettiPiz...
post Apr 29 2008, 12:22 PM
Post #15


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 26-October 04
Member No.: 3,146



Yeh I wouldn't really mind waiting a few minutes for installation, hell, it takes almost that long for some PS2 games to start up anyway lol. I just wasn't aware that PS3 games had any installation, due to PS2 games not having any, but I guess with the hard drive it does make sense.

This post has been edited by Starkey: Apr 29 2008, 12:22 PM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darchi19
post Apr 29 2008, 12:24 PM
Post #16


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-April 08
Member No.: 39,026



whats the big deal about this install !!!!!

i got home put the disk in took a piss , flicked thru the guide and BANG im into the intro
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caliph
post Apr 29 2008, 12:29 PM
Post #17


Nobody Special


Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Liberty City
Member No.: 38,605



I read from an article on the net that the FPS wouldve still been slightly better than the Xbox360 version regardless of whether or not an installation process was implemented on the Playstation3 version. The awkward pop-ups that youd find in the Xbox360 version would also not be noticeable in the game, regardless of the mandatory installation or not. So the mandatory installation was just there to make the loading times better, nothing more or less.


--------------------
Playstation 3 80GB | Grand Theft Auto IV | Sony HDTV
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NIKO-BOTTIE
post Apr 29 2008, 01:02 PM
Post #18


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 28-April 08
Member No.: 39,983



QUOTE(Caliph @ Apr 29 2008, 01:29 PM) [snapback]1425969[/snapback]
I read from an article on the net that the FPS wouldve still been slightly better than the Xbox360 version regardless of whether or not an installation process was implemented on the Playstation3 version. The awkward pop-ups that youd find in the Xbox360 version would also not be noticeable in the game, regardless of the mandatory installation or not. So the mandatory installation was just there to make the loading times better, nothing more or less.



im playing on the 360 from wher i can see ther has been no pop ups lol seems all gd to me bril game defo 10/10
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Not a Stain On M...
post Apr 29 2008, 01:10 PM
Post #19


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 9-April 08
Member No.: 39,083



QUOTE(Caliph @ Apr 29 2008, 04:08 AM) [snapback]1425774[/snapback]
^In that case, all those rumors about the game playing on a 630p native resolution were false.


As if we didn't already know...


--------------------
Why don't you have a seat over there...
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 03:20 PM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4