IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Is My Computer Good Enough?, Why is it running choppy?
George98
post Jul 14 2007, 06:59 AM
Post #1


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 14-July 07
Member No.: 37,060



Ok it runs marginally, Its just barly playable, but the gameplay is slow on my computer, I have even tried the SPEEDITUP cheat, but it runs kinda slow and kinda choppy, I went over and played it on my friends computer and it ran great, perfect game play, nice and fast. Im not sure what it is that makes it slow in my computer, all I know is it isnt the RAM, I have 512 and sometimes when my dad leaves I take the ram out of his computer doubling mine, and it still runs kinda slow.

Here are what I have, Tell me whats wrong: (If Im missing a spec please tell me with instruction on how to find it)
OS: XP Professional
Processor: Intel ® Celeron ® CPU 2.53 GHz
Memory 512 RAM, sometimes double
Page File: 323MB used, 904MB avalible
Direct X 9.0
Grafics: Intel ® 82865G Grafics Conroller
Approx Total Memory: 96.0 MB
as a computer it runs fine, But it cant seem to fully handle San Andreas

This post has been edited by George98: Jul 14 2007, 07:01 AM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meyer Lansky
post Jul 14 2007, 08:12 AM
Post #2


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 11-July 05
From: San Andreas
Member No.: 18,805



Any PC that came with a Celeron was never meant to play games, and never will play games, If im wrong someone correct me
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WaRmRock
post Jul 14 2007, 10:09 AM
Post #3


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Philippines
Member No.: 37,058



hmmm...

maybe there's something wrong woth your PC..
or maybe try the Option in GTA and try it to minimize the graphics..
in low settings...

you know what we have the same problem months ago...
i'd only have a 256 memory and my processor is only 64.
with that problem i cant finish the game.. so i was so frustrated..

then i decided to buy a processor, so now its 128...
and you know what it runs fast..

i think you should first try it...
and if will not work... buy a new PC.. happy.gif

Gud luck...


--------------------


"One Family That Matters..."


GTA finished games:
  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (100%)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Vice City
  • Grand Theft Auto Advance
  • Grand Theft Auto III (100%)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars

Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
George98
post Jul 14 2007, 10:22 PM
Post #4


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 14-July 07
Member No.: 37,060



QUOTE(WaRmRock @ Jul 14 2007, 10:09 AM) [snapback]1346165[/snapback]
hmmm...

maybe there's something wrong woth your PC..
or maybe try the Option in GTA and try it to minimize the graphics..
in low settings...

you know what we have the same problem months ago...
i'd only have a 256 memory and my processor is only 64.
with that problem i cant finish the game.. so i was so frustrated..

then i decided to buy a processor, so now its 128...
and you know what it runs fast..

i think you should first try it...
and if will not work... buy a new PC.. happy.gif

Gud luck...

So like That thign that you had that was a 64 and Now is a 128, what Is it? And how much is mine? Sorry Im not very good at technical details.

QUOTE(George98 @ Jul 14 2007, 10:18 PM) [snapback]1346320[/snapback]
QUOTE(WaRmRock @ Jul 14 2007, 10:09 AM) [snapback]1346165[/snapback]
hmmm...

maybe there's something wrong woth your PC..
or maybe try the Option in GTA and try it to minimize the graphics..
in low settings...

you know what we have the same problem months ago...
i'd only have a 256 memory and my processor is only 64.
with that problem i cant finish the game.. so i was so frustrated..

then i decided to buy a processor, so now its 128...
and you know what it runs fast..

i think you should first try it...
and if will not work... buy a new PC.. happy.gif

Gud luck...

So like That thign that you had that was a 64 and Now is a 128, what Is it? And how much is mine? Sorry Im not very good at technical details. And I googled it and It turns out Celeron is a budget processor, not a good one. But my dad has a pentium 4 2.63GHz one, can someone give me detailed instructions on how exchange them, and how noticable would It be that his computer is slower? Would he lose anything? Like data or anything?
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WaRmRock
post Jul 15 2007, 04:57 AM
Post #5


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Philippines
Member No.: 37,058



no... you wont lose any data or files because the processor is your problem...
the data would not be erase beacuase the memory is managing ur data's and files...
the processor is not related to ur memory. it will only run ur computer fast ok...



--------------------


"One Family That Matters..."


GTA finished games:
  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (100%)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Vice City
  • Grand Theft Auto Advance
  • Grand Theft Auto III (100%)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars

Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
George98
post Jul 15 2007, 07:33 AM
Post #6


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 14-July 07
Member No.: 37,060



OK, I put in my dads Processor from his computer, and it seems to run fine, but when I try and run the game it is soooooooooooooooo slow, like 1 frame every couple seconds, Like with my Celeron it was berable, playable, but not to the best of my ability. But it is terribly slow, I was thinking that It might be some cache or something that might need to be loaded, so I started up san Andreas several times, and it was still really slow.
BTW The one from My Dads computer is a: Intel ® Pentium ® CPU 2.66GHz, I have even tried doubling the Ram to a bit over 1000MB
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WaRmRock
post Jul 15 2007, 07:58 AM
Post #7


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Philippines
Member No.: 37,058



oh...
maybe you should try pentuim 4 in ur PC..
im sure it will work fast and buying a 128 mb in ur video card...
ok??


--------------------


"One Family That Matters..."


GTA finished games:
  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (100%)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Vice City
  • Grand Theft Auto Advance
  • Grand Theft Auto III (100%)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars

Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HeadCrab
post Aug 2 2007, 12:54 AM
Post #8


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 7-January 07
From: Liberty City, Rotterdam Tower
Member No.: 34,426



WarmRock, you have no clue what you are talking about. As for the game running slow, it is because of your onboard (Intel) graphics chipset. That chipset was never designed to play games. In order to play this game smoothly, you will need a new graphics card.


--------------------
If at first you don't succeed, forget it and play GTA.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HELMET
post Aug 15 2007, 04:12 AM
Post #9


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 15-February 07
Member No.: 34,932



QUOTE(GUCCI MaNe @ Jul 14 2007, 04:12 AM) [snapback]1346144[/snapback]
Any PC that came with a Celeron was never meant to play games, and never will play games, If im wrong someone correct me



I have a 3.9 ghz celeron d with an nvidia fx 5500 standard 8x pci video card with onboard sound (ac97 audio) with 760 mb ram and i can play gta3, vc, and san andreas pretty well for an old clonker. I even play Half-life 2 at 1024 x 768 with settings on high and i usually get about 30-40 fps.


--------------------

Ledový Muž Přichází
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 09:33 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4