IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Install Error (data error) cyclic redundancy check, installation problem
romark2001
post Jun 25 2005, 10:45 AM
Post #1


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 25-June 05
Member No.: 16,281



Wondering if anyone can help. Every time I try to install I get an error message about D:\data2.cab...........data error(cyclic redundancy check).
Anyone got any ideas how to solve this?

My system is; AMD XP 2400+, 512MB RAM, GeForce FX 5700 256MB, Creative USB Sound Blaster Audigy 2NX

Many thanks

This post has been edited by romark2001: Jun 25 2005, 03:14 PM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
romark2001
post Jun 25 2005, 03:05 PM
Post #2


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 25-June 05
Member No.: 16,281



Now tried uninstalling Win XP SP2 but that hasn't fixed it. All I wanna do is play this great game! wallbash_red.gif
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TooCrooked
post Jun 25 2005, 03:18 PM
Post #3


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 10-June 05
From: SC
Member No.: 12,621



first try to copy that file directly to your harddrive from the cd. see if it can be copied at all. if that works, try to clean the disk (id do a search on the web for the best way to do this.. i wouldnt want to tell you a way to do it that may scratch it), and then try to reinstall again once youve cleaned it.

also, if you have any friends with dvd drives on their computers, see if they can install the game. if they dont get the error, it may be your computers drive.


--------------------
user posted image
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
romark2001
post Jun 25 2005, 03:28 PM
Post #4


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 25-June 05
Member No.: 16,281



Thanks for the reply...

Tried copying it and got a v similar message. Does this mean the DVD is damaged? There are a few scratches on it.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TooCrooked
post Jun 25 2005, 03:37 PM
Post #5


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 10-June 05
From: SC
Member No.: 12,621



theres a chance its physically damaged/scratched. or the file could actually be corrupt on the CD, but thats worst case scenario.

if i were going to try and clean it, i would use tap water and a paper towel. many may disagree, but ive never seen it be a huge problem.

dont forget to try it on another computer. that will give you some definite results. if it works there, its on your end. if its jacked there too, its the dvd.


--------------------
user posted image
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
romark2001
post Jun 28 2005, 10:54 PM
Post #6


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 25-June 05
Member No.: 16,281



Turned out this was all because the disk I had been sold had a scratch on it. Replaced it and no problems at all although i did notice that the replacement DVD had a scratch pretty much the same place.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2014 - 07:16 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4