IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Upgrading To Windows Vista
-spyder-
post Sep 12 2007, 10:03 PM
Post #1


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 8-October 06
From: Leeds, UK
Member No.: 32,804



Right, im upgrading my quite oldish computer from Xp to Vista Ulitmate becasue this guy i know gives discouts and stuff so i thought i go and get it, but so far ive been looking on the internet and its sounds like a pain becasue loads of people it dosent work probably or programs dont install and stuff like that and was wondering if anyone else has upgraded Vista, becasue then i maybe re think about getting it. Also becasue aswell my computer quite old im having to upgrade my RAM so at least up to 1GB for Ulitmate to work properly.

So was wondering if anyone else has had problems with theirs or what it was like and if its better then XP because it looks and sounds alot better and if their are any flaws with it like programs not working properly and stuff, and if its actually worth it buying it and the upgrades for my pc

This post has been edited by -spyder-: Sep 12 2007, 10:06 PM


--------------------

---
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Strike
post Sep 12 2007, 10:26 PM
Post #2


Upstanding Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Banned
Posts: 0
Joined: 11-September 05
Member No.: 24,248



Vista, apart from looking nice, is a complete piss take.

Basically, it's a Mac operating system but with the Windows branding. The 'instant search' for example, has been completely ripped from Mac OSX, as well as the sidebars and widgets. And the general look and feel of it is a complete carbon copy. Its a huge system resource hog, too. And 1GB isn't going to be enough to get the most out of it, you'll need at least 2GB or more to get the true experience. I have Windows Vista installed on my laptop, albeit the Home Premium or whatever. I have all the unnecessary features turned off though, such as instant search, and kept the ones from XP turned on. Infact, I'm thinking of downgrading back to XP - I love that compared to Vista.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psychÝ
post Sep 12 2007, 11:05 PM
Post #3


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 26-August 04
From: The Steel City, England
Member No.: 1,279



QUOTE(Strike @ Sep 12 2007, 11:26 PM) [snapback]1362167[/snapback]
Vista, apart from looking nice, is a complete piss take.

Indeed, I was watching some guide of vista on a laptop in tesco, it was just like you can search, you can burn discs, you can play music, I was just like WTF you can already do that.

It just looked shit.


--------------------

Dragonfly
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Sep 12 2007, 11:06 PM
Post #4


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



QUOTE(-spyder- @ Sep 12 2007, 06:03 PM) [snapback]1362159[/snapback]
Right, im upgrading my quite oldish computer from Xp to Vista Ulitmate becasue this guy i know gives discouts and stuff so i thought i go and get it, but so far ive been looking on the internet and its sounds like a pain becasue loads of people it dosent work probably or programs dont install and stuff like that and was wondering if anyone else has upgraded Vista, becasue then i maybe re think about getting it. Also becasue aswell my computer quite old im having to upgrade my RAM so at least up to 1GB for Ulitmate to work properly.

So was wondering if anyone else has had problems with theirs or what it was like and if its better then XP because it looks and sounds alot better and if their are any flaws with it like programs not working properly and stuff, and if its actually worth it buying it and the upgrades for my pc


I am running vista home premium 64 bit on my new system and I love it. I guess I'm one of the few lucky vista users that has not had any major driver or software issues. Just about everything I used on my XP system works. Of course there are a couple exceptions. My all in one does not work as it did with XP, but all the functions are still usable so I'm not complaining (much) about that. As for my hand held device... the drivers don't exist for vista so it doesn't work at all, and believe it or not, that does not bother me much either. With those minor issues aside, I think Vista is a great OS with a lot of potential, but that's just my opinion.

With that said, I don't think you should upgrade to Vista just yet. XP is still the better (more stable/compatible) OS as of right now. Vista just needs some more time. Around the beginning of next year, Vista will be the only MS OS offered on most manufactured PCs. So that means that the shift is taking place... out with the old, in with the new. My advice to you... stick with XP at least until the beginning of next year. The price on Vista will slowly come down, but if you think that the price you will get it for right now is a really really good deal, and you don't think you'll have the opportunity to get it for that price later, then buy it now and just hold off on installing it right away.

If you do go the Vista route, don't be surprised if you may have to buy some new "Vista compatible" devices. A lot of manufactures are taking advantage of this new OS shift by simply not patching or releasing software/drivers for their older (and even some not so old) products. They figure they can just make you pay for new "Vista compatible" products and divert their software engineering resources to writing new "Vista compatible" software to go with those products. It's kinda like the whole Y2K crap that went on years ago when they were trying to make people buy "Y2K compliant" PCs. It's just another way for them to make more profits.

I hope some of that info helps, because it took a while to type smile.gif
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
I Made Your Mom ...
post Sep 13 2007, 03:19 PM
Post #5


Upstanding Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 19-January 05
From: Cornwall, England
Member No.: 8,614
XBL Gamertag: Strike Viper
PSN Name: Imbrium



QUOTE(psychÝ @ Sep 13 2007, 12:05 AM) [snapback]1362171[/snapback]
QUOTE(Strike @ Sep 12 2007, 11:26 PM) [snapback]1362167[/snapback]
Vista, apart from looking nice, is a complete piss take.

Indeed, I was watching some guide of vista on a laptop in tesco, it was just like you can search, you can burn discs, you can play music, I was just like WTF you can already do that.

It just looked shit.

Well there's a bit more than that. The desktop gadgets (news feeds, clock, notepad, GTA IV countdown etc) are all really useful and some of the music stuff has been streamlined, but you're basically right. I bought it for DX10 Crysis anyway...


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FuddMan
post Sep 13 2007, 04:11 PM
Post #6


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 28-August 04
From: Maidstone, England
Member No.: 1,351



You'll want far more than 1GB of RAM if you're going with Ultimate. All that extra bloatware eats up resources like nothing else.

Don't upgrade if you can. Literally everyone I know personally has gone back down to XP after installing Vista and having it crap out on them. Go with the hardware upgrade but keep the OS. Then you can have a fast and stable system, rather than a sluggish and unstable one.


--------------------
QUOTE (Psy)
Well, I must be honest, I do occasionally have the odd night off where I stick my fingers in as many pussy's as I can
php stands for psy humping pussy


zomg it's DuffMan's clone.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psychÝ
post Sep 13 2007, 04:26 PM
Post #7


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 26-August 04
From: The Steel City, England
Member No.: 1,279



QUOTE(Lazz @ Sep 13 2007, 04:19 PM) [snapback]1362212[/snapback]
QUOTE(psychÝ @ Sep 13 2007, 12:05 AM) [snapback]1362171[/snapback]
QUOTE(Strike @ Sep 12 2007, 11:26 PM) [snapback]1362167[/snapback]
Vista, apart from looking nice, is a complete piss take.

Indeed, I was watching some guide of vista on a laptop in tesco, it was just like you can search, you can burn discs, you can play music, I was just like WTF you can already do that.

It just looked shit.

Well there's a bit more than that. The desktop gadgets (news feeds, clock, notepad, GTA IV countdown etc) are all really useful and some of the music stuff has been streamlined, but you're basically right. I bought it for DX10 Crysis anyway...

I already have a clock, notepad, a countdown and news feeds....................

I just don't have to waste a load of memory to have them.


--------------------

Dragonfly
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-spyder-
post Sep 13 2007, 06:21 PM
Post #8


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 8-October 06
From: Leeds, UK
Member No.: 32,804



ok well, im still abit unsure but i know i definetly need to upgrade my system anyways, up to 1GB, but to be honest i think i might get it becasue im getting it dirt cheap and its definetly legal (lol) and becasue i could save money on the other 'Vista's' I might aswell pay a little extra to get the most out of it and get the Ulimate version, becasue thats seems the best out of alll of them and its got some new things, like that 3D stuff and browsing windows types, I know its not much but I do think it looks alot better and theres is ome other cooll entertainment features, and its not being able to rib cd and stuff.

So anyways there is a engineer coming on Sat, to upgrade my RAM to 1GB but he mentioned that that might not be enough and did suggest a 2GB but the price of 1GB is under £70, which includes fitting and so, so I'll see

Also I downloaded this Upgrade advisor from Microsoft site, and so it said i needed to upgrade my ram, and almost all my software, and drivers needed to be updated if there capaple of vista, so if not then id would probably go back to XP, but my computer dident come with disc with Xp on and was already installed when I bought the computer, so the guy, who is a friend really said he would lend me back a XP Pro Edition as mine is only Home Edition, but i'll see on Saturady when i probably buy Vista to see


--------------------

---
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
House
post Sep 14 2007, 01:17 PM
Post #9


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 8-June 05
From: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Member No.: 12,344



I'm running Windows Vista Ultimate, I don't have any problems with it a few things don't work but looking around for driver updates fixed them right up. Really, if you're not confident don't upgrade it's not that great anyways. Though I must admit it looks quite hawt compared to XP but again if you look around you could probably download somethings so it'll start to resemble Vista.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-spyder-
post Sep 15 2007, 12:53 PM
Post #10


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 8-October 06
From: Leeds, UK
Member No.: 32,804



Well so far it aint going to well, This guy came to upgrade my RAM and my computer works alot faster than it did and was worth it anyways even if Vista dosent work becasue he lent me a Home Basic disc but on the disc itself it says for Dell computers but he said it should work anyways but its not, becasue i got after about 2 hours of it installing and than the last part where it says Finishing upgrade or something a blue screen appeared with something about drivers, (which i had problem with before when my computer kept restarting) or something then it restarted and it was restoring it back to the Xp settings and its all fine now really, except i had to re-install my wifi adapter

But also when it was installing vista, it was in a larger view, like it was magnified and when it was restarting, the boot logo changed and a display on my screen said something like ''set to 1024x768 setting with 60hz'' but my screen size is that but im not sure about 60hz, and it was displayed from the LCD screen not from the computer text if you know what i mean

Meh so I might ask the guy that installed my ram to come back and see whats happening.


--------------------

---
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gazz
post Oct 4 2007, 12:34 AM
Post #11


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Glasgow - Scotland
Member No.: 7,713



Well im sure you will like it...if you can handle all the alerts anytime you try to run something...im using Home Premium 32-Bit since my Ultimate 64-bit didnt seem to like my PC setup...whether that was due to the SLI i had upgraded to, I dont know...now my Home Premium is pretty damn good for what I need it for (mainly for this Alan Wake game which will ONLY run on Windows Vista...) but even running oldies like Manhunt, GTA VC and even GTA 3 it does the job...I heard alot of people saying "OMG DRIVERS FOR VISTA NEED THIS AND THAT AND YOU CANT RUN ANYTHING" well im afraid to say I havent had any driver issues yet, and all the programs and games which I've had on XP run fine on Vista...dont get me wrong, there is a few little annoying things but for me it looks better and performs better, faster boot times than XP too (for me anyways).

I wouldnt say its a "wrong" choice, the new "Games For Windows" will "aparently" need Vista and "wont" run on XP...Alan Wake has been confirmed as a Vista only game (and 360 ofc)...

If you dont like it, roll-back to XP, but always keep Vista handy!

-Gazz


--------------------


You've Been............Thunderstruck!
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Oct 5 2007, 03:19 AM
Post #12


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



QUOTE(Gazz @ Oct 3 2007, 08:34 PM) [snapback]1367113[/snapback]
Well im sure you will like it...if you can handle all the alerts anytime you try to run something...im using Home Premium 32-Bit since my Ultimate 64-bit didnt seem to like my PC setup...whether that was due to the SLI i had upgraded to, I dont know...now my Home Premium is pretty damn good for what I need it for (mainly for this Alan Wake game which will ONLY run on Windows Vista...) but even running oldies like Manhunt, GTA VC and even GTA 3 it does the job...I heard alot of people saying "OMG DRIVERS FOR VISTA NEED THIS AND THAT AND YOU CANT RUN ANYTHING" well im afraid to say I havent had any driver issues yet, and all the programs and games which I've had on XP run fine on Vista...dont get me wrong, there is a few little annoying things but for me it looks better and performs better, faster boot times than XP too (for me anyways).

I wouldnt say its a "wrong" choice, the new "Games For Windows" will "aparently" need Vista and "wont" run on XP...Alan Wake has been confirmed as a Vista only game (and 360 ofc)...

If you dont like it, roll-back to XP, but always keep Vista handy!

-Gazz


I agree for the most part, but not about the alerts. Yes the alerts are annoying at first but the UAC (user account control) can easily be shut down to stop them. I first ran Vista with the UAC off because I felt that it was unnecessary. Then I gave the UAC a try and realized an extra click or two, once in a while is worth the added security. Once you get used to it, it is really not a big annoyance. So ever since then I left it on because it's geared to prevent malicious software from installing itself on your system.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Amis
post Oct 5 2007, 08:12 AM
Post #13


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25,708



There is no reason to swap from most stable Windows so far to unstable beta Windows.

XP is, believe it or not, closest thing to Microsoft's promises of stable Windows, Vista in the other hand is crap.

I don't speak for my own experience, since I only use XP but my friend is IT man from head to toe and he told me this, and he has been in this computer business for more than ten years, so I think he knows what he speaks about.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Oct 6 2007, 03:37 AM
Post #14


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



QUOTE(Amis @ Oct 5 2007, 04:12 AM) [snapback]1367328[/snapback]
There is no reason to swap from most stable Windows so far to unstable beta Windows.

XP is, believe it or not, closest thing to Microsoft's promises of stable Windows, Vista in the other hand is crap.

I don't speak for my own experience, since I only use XP but my friend is IT man from head to toe and he told me this, and he has been in this computer business for more than ten years, so I think he knows what he speaks about.


If that's the case, then I hope your friend doesn't tell you to jump of the nearest bridge because it seems like what he says is law. Opinions, even from those that are professionals... are still just opinions. That coming from an IT specialist is not surprising because he's looking at it from an IT perspective. Of course as an IT pro he wouldn't go with Vista, it hasn't had the time to develop yet. Then again, that applies to all software when your dealing with IT, not just OSs. However, looking at it from a home user's perspective it can be quite different. Of course it also depends on the user's PC knowledge level, hardware setup, and some luck.

This post has been edited by FrankCastle: Oct 6 2007, 03:43 AM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pieface
post Oct 6 2007, 10:48 AM
Post #15


Jailbird
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 487
Joined: 25-August 05
From: Wirral, England.
Member No.: 23,545



QUOTE(FrankCastle @ Oct 6 2007, 04:37 AM) [snapback]1367534[/snapback]
QUOTE(Amis @ Oct 5 2007, 04:12 AM) [snapback]1367328[/snapback]
There is no reason to swap from most stable Windows so far to unstable beta Windows.

XP is, believe it or not, closest thing to Microsoft's promises of stable Windows, Vista in the other hand is crap.

I don't speak for my own experience, since I only use XP but my friend is IT man from head to toe and he told me this, and he has been in this computer business for more than ten years, so I think he knows what he speaks about.


If that's the case, then I hope your friend doesn't tell you to jump of the nearest bridge because it seems like what he says is law. Opinions, even from those that are professionals... are still just opinions. That coming from an IT specialist is not surprising because he's looking at it from an IT perspective. Of course as an IT pro he wouldn't go with Vista, it hasn't had the time to develop yet. Then again, that applies to all software when your dealing with IT, not just OSs. However, looking at it from a home user's perspective it can be quite different. Of course it also depends on the user's PC knowledge level, hardware setup, and some luck.

Vista is sluggish but it ain't terrible really. I have a 5.0 PC so it all works fine. If I had a better processor then id be higher but still 5.0 is high.


--------------------
YES I don't play Xbox 360 anymore.

Add me on steam BITCHES. Pieface876
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Oct 6 2007, 04:41 PM
Post #16


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



QUOTE(Die FŁhrer @ Oct 6 2007, 06:48 AM) [snapback]1367562[/snapback]
Vista is sluggish but it ain't terrible really. I have a 5.0 PC so it all works fine. If I had a better processor then id be higher but still 5.0 is high.


I don't think it is sluggish at all. It depends on your system specs. My Vista score is 5.7 out of 5.9. Then again, even if your specs are not up to par, you can always turn off the flashy features if you could live without them. It's really up to the user.

I'm sure most people that hate Vista have valid reasons other than fanboyism and word of mouth. I personally love Vista and I'm not afraid to say it. It does everything I need... and it does it all very well. Give it some time and it'll have a lot of minds changed. The standard home PC will eventually be what today's super PC is, and when that happens a lot of people will start to see how good Vista really is and what it's capable of.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-spyder-
post Oct 6 2007, 07:17 PM
Post #17


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 8-October 06
From: Leeds, UK
Member No.: 32,804



Ok well thanks anyways guy's, i dident decide to buy any Windows Vista, but i do have 2 different versions of Windows Vista, one is the Ultimate which i have lent from a friend down the road which is a copy *cough*. And a Home Basic Disc (this is the CD I tried to run) which I said before which I lent from the elctrician who installed my RAM, however it looks to me as if I might be keeping it as the guy who fixed up my RAM, took out my old RAM and kept it without informing me and he hasent bothered to ask to return his Vista Disc so id rather not bother about ringing back for my old RAM part and keep the disc happy.gif

Anyways seen as it dident work before, I cant really be bothereed to delete everything from the HDD because I dont have any other memory to copy my documents and stuff and because of some of the hassle, even though I might not get any, and also I dont have a XP installion disc so I cant re-install windows if something went wrong, Im quite happy to stay with XP becasue it runs alot faster, smoother and Ive downloaded some nice themes and programs that make it look alot better. If anybody else knows any other good free programs then share.


--------------------

---
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pieface
post Oct 6 2007, 09:52 PM
Post #18


Jailbird
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 487
Joined: 25-August 05
From: Wirral, England.
Member No.: 23,545



BTW why did you pay £70 for a guy to install some RAM? Its the easiest component to install out of any, it just slots into one of the RAM slots.


--------------------
YES I don't play Xbox 360 anymore.

Add me on steam BITCHES. Pieface876
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sharpie Fetish
post Oct 6 2007, 10:25 PM
Post #19


Litterer
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 55
Joined: 20-January 07
Member No.: 34,595



I was thinking the same i watched my brother do it once and he just had to take the case off and slot it in
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-spyder-
post Oct 6 2007, 10:37 PM
Post #20


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 8-October 06
From: Leeds, UK
Member No.: 32,804



QUOTE(Die FŁhrer @ Oct 6 2007, 10:52 PM) [snapback]1367694[/snapback]
BTW why did you pay £70 for a guy to install some RAM? Its the easiest component to install out of any, it just slots into one of the RAM slots.

Because I had a fucker of a time trying to open the case, eventually I did find something on the internet but still, Im not taking the risk and time of looking, and the price wouldent of changed as he charged £5 for fitting so I wasent really bothered at the time

This post has been edited by -spyder-: Oct 6 2007, 10:38 PM


--------------------

---
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th August 2014 - 01:25 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4