IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> PS3: NAT Type 2 to NAT Type 1, Red Dead Redemption Connection Issues
Marney1
post Nov 30 2010, 05:09 AM
Post #1


Godfather
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 3,416
Joined: 18-February 09
Member No.: 48,547



I'm always having connection issues while trying to play online, (RDR & GTA IV) I can try for hours to find a free roam session with other players but most of the time lose connection after a short while. My PS3 is set to NAT Type 2 but I think I need to change to NAT Type 1 but I'm finding it confusing as hell to do.

Can anyone help, in a 'computers for dummies' kind of way?
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kamahl
post Nov 30 2010, 06:29 AM
Post #2


Snitch
*

Group: Members
Posts: 173
Joined: 27-January 05
Member No.: 8,969
PSN Name: Kamahl_rg



NAT 2 is fine... if you are having problems its probably due to something else, you only have to worry if you are getting NAT 3.

Im not sure about this but i think that the only difference between NAT 1 and 2 is that 2 means that the PS3 is connected to a router.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marney1
post Nov 30 2010, 06:52 AM
Post #3


Godfather
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 3,416
Joined: 18-February 09
Member No.: 48,547



QUOTE (Kamahl @ Nov 30 2010, 06:29 AM) *
NAT 2 is fine... if you are having problems its probably due to something else, you only have to worry if you are getting NAT 3.

Im not sure about this but i think that the only difference between NAT 1 and 2 is that 2 means that the PS3 is connected to a router.

I've been looking into it and I think you're right. I'll call AOL later and see what my PPoE settings should be etc. It may also be an issue with firewall settings on my router......or something.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DuPz0r
post Nov 30 2010, 05:12 PM
Post #4


Still Standing
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 1,433
Joined: 3-August 04
From: London, England
Member No.: 439
PSN Name: BushkaUK



Make sure upnp is enabled in the router advanced settings. It should be by default, but this will block your ps3 from getting into games. I was told to check it a while back when i had problems with my internet. Also, certain games require different ports to be open on the routers settings also.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
demon
post Nov 30 2010, 05:20 PM
Post #5


Capo
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,084
Joined: 29-August 08
From: underworld
Member No.: 42,672



I know the purpose with NAT, but I don't know about different types. Can we say that NAT 1 is one "channel" and NAT 2 a different "channel"?


--------------------
The new GTA 5 website. GTA 5 forums.
QUOTE (Marney1 @ Jan 31 2010, 06:37 AM) *

That's for you ^
Use it in your sig or avatar because you are very special.

QUOTE (TF)
for being a little bitch
Edited by TF.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 01:18 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4