IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> ModNation Racers, Seriously why hasn't this been talked about?
DuPz0r
post Aug 6 2010, 10:56 PM
Post #1

Still Standing
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Member No.: 439
PSN Name: BushkaUK

Ok well as there was no thread on this i thought i may as well start one.

First off, i remember seeing this first at 2009's really small E3 show. At the time is just seemed like a horrible imitation of LittleBigPlanet but with cars. So i shrugged it off and thought about some of the other blockbuster titles i was really waiting for through-out 2010 so far. Now they have passed and I've completed them, i sat in Blockbusters the other day sifting through the titles i had missed. Not much caught my eye, so i picked ModNation racers purely because it stood out and seemed ok really.

I started playing it as soon as i got in and really thought well this feels a lot like Mario Kart but with customizable characters. Today I'm still playing it and i absolutely love it. It is in fact a Mario Kart clone, but they somehow made it more fun than Mario Kart which is unbelievable as Mario Kart was one of those classics i adored.

Things that are good about this game:

First off the character customization it slick and polished well in comparison to that of LBP which seemed very jerky.

The vehicles are pretty epic, you can do much with them like that of Need for Speed DUB or Underground.

The track creation is amazing quick and easy to use. You get this giant track laying machine which you drive around and it drops the track behind you. Then you can customize your theme and landscape using brush tools and sun modifier. There is also an Auto-populate button which just creates an amazing array of trees, houses and other random items around your track if you cant be bothered to do them yourself, which i think is great and saves hours of boring work.