IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Frame limiter = crap
a_bunk_id
post Jul 28 2005, 09:03 PM
Post #1


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 25-July 05
Member No.: 20,629



I know they recommend if you have a fast rig to leave it on, and crank up view distance / aa, but don't be deceited. It looks like a whole new game with limiter turned off. The only reason I had it on in the first place was because I thought that was their way of re-naming vsync...

Now, go ahead and crank that aa and view distance up anyway, i have them both maxed out, 6800gt, and it runs like a champ... Rare occasions I see it get just a little chop, but never as bad as it was with that BS frame limiter on.

cheers

I will add tho, I've noticed about 2 - 3 seconds of straight lag when first getting into a vehicle after turning off frame limiter, and on occasion while walking (or driving) it does the same thing. Game appears to lockup for 2-3 secs and then goes right back to normal operation. you were warned.

Please edit your posts, instead of double posting - Psycho
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Un-Amurikan Bast...
post Jul 28 2005, 10:30 PM
Post #2


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 1-July 05
From: I try to be directly above the center of the earth
Member No.: 17,310



Don't double post. wink.gif


--------------------

QUOTE(Styx)
Dancin' on a landmine baby one leg left, I can still crawl and I'm not dead yet. You better get a bigger gun, I'm not dead yet.


QUOTE(K. M. Munshi)
Have a scripture to recite, but make your own path.

Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rsk
post Jul 29 2005, 03:30 AM
Post #3


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 28-July 05
From: Queens, New York
Member No.: 21,022



Frame limiter basically syncs your frames, so instead of having 150 fps you would be capped at 100, I left it off and maxed my graphics, smooth as it can be.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vercetty666
post Jul 29 2005, 10:23 AM
Post #4


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-July 05
From: Las Venturas
Member No.: 21,179



I play GTA SA with frame limiter OFF. When is On the game is with more slower gameplay but fixes many issues, right?


--------------------
Las Venturas, San Fierro, Los Santos, Vice City and Liberty City - One Big Open World
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
a_bunk_id
post Jul 30 2005, 12:00 AM
Post #5


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 25-July 05
Member No.: 20,629



QUOTE
Don't double post  wink.gif


shut yer hole

QUOTE
Frame limiter basically syncs your frames, so instead of having 150 fps you would be capped at 100, I left it off and maxed my graphics, smooth as it can be.


wrong... frame limiter is a built in frame limitation that runs the game at 30 fps, no matter what the situation. They put that in for everyone who buys the game on a p2 600mhz / geforce 2 mx. It's not remotely close to vsync, and makes a good looking game look like shit.

QUOTE
I play GTA SA with frame limiter OFF. When is On the game is with more slower gameplay but fixes many issues, right?


I beleive so, yes. It does seem to resolve minor issues on rare occasions.

Please edit your posts, instead of double posting and don't flame members for trying to tell you the rules. - Psycho
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
marianopicco
post Aug 6 2005, 05:02 PM
Post #6


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 22,054



Theres no such thing as a P2 at 600 MHz tongue.gif
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dima_2005
post Aug 8 2005, 06:43 AM
Post #7


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 16,165



Sorry but it can be a P2 at 600 Mhz ( with an overclock and watercooling which will you cost something like 200$-170Ä
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wuuzoku
post Aug 9 2005, 03:11 PM
Post #8


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 22,058



I have it off, and graphics at max, work's perfectly.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psychÝ
post Aug 9 2005, 03:49 PM
Post #9


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 26-August 04
From: The Steel City, England
Member No.: 1,279



QUOTE(Dima_2005 @ Aug 8 2005, 08:43 AM)
Sorry but it can be a P2 at 600 Mhz ( with an overclock and watercooling which will you cost something like 200$-170Ä
[right][snapback]799380[/snapback][/right]

You don't need water cooling and the fact is no one is going to bother to overclock a p2.


--------------------

Dragonfly
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthew3
post Jun 3 2008, 05:00 AM
Post #10


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-May 08
Member No.: 41,212



can i do this vsync and framelimiter on the xbox 360??????????????????????????????
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neko_ceko
post Jun 3 2008, 06:41 AM
Post #11


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 22-January 08
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Yugoslavia
Member No.: 38,360
Xfire Identity: nekoceko



fucking 2 year bump
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grimace619
post Jun 3 2008, 06:45 AM
Post #12


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 18-April 08
Member No.: 39,552



QUOTE
can i do this vsync and framelimiter on the xbox 360??????????????????????????????


LMAO

whats with the 2 year !


--------------------

[center]socialclub member #27078
[/center]
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nec
post Jun 3 2008, 09:38 PM
Post #13


Upstanding Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 0
Joined: 2-May 06
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 29,610



QUOTE(matthew3 @ Jun 2 2008, 10:00 PM) [snapback]1444297[/snapback]
can i do this vsync and framelimiter on the xbox 360??????????????????????????????


I don't know, but I am sure someone will. And don't mind them. They are poth PITAs rolleyes.gif


--------------------

Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neko_ceko
post Jun 13 2008, 07:10 PM
Post #14


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 22-January 08
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Yugoslavia
Member No.: 38,360
Xfire Identity: nekoceko



wtf are pitas lol
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 03:15 PM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4