IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Where can I get 3 gigs of ram for cheap?, title says it all
Banana Boy
post Jul 14 2009, 10:03 PM
Post #1


Litterer


Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 9-August 08
From: Honkers Liberty City
Member No.: 42,438



Im looking for more ram for my PC

I have a Dell Dimension E510, it only has 1 gig of ram, and I really like to play Flight Simulator X, and it is a CPU intensive game, people have told me that putting more ram into it will make it run faster, where can I get more ram for not much money?


--------------------

Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Qdeathstar
post Jul 15 2009, 03:08 AM
Post #2


My Penis, Your ass. Lets go.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 420
Joined: 2-August 04
From: Virginia Beach
Member No.: 14



how many slots do you have? If you have only two slots then you'll need to get two 2 gig ramerificatiors....



google it. thats your best bet.

Also, unless your running windows vista 64 bit you can only use 2gb ram in that computer because it requires matching ram according to Dell which means you must have 2 512mb sticks in there now


if you only have windows 32 bit then your gonna have to go with 2 gigs (unless the PC has 4 ram slots)



if you have windows 64 bit and want 4 gigs...
http://www.nextag.com/Kingston-4GB-667MHZ-...7C6B195FCAC46FE

This post has been edited by Qdeathstar: Jul 15 2009, 03:12 AM


--------------------

Seether - Country Song
Download Now

QUOTE (Massacre @ Aug 26 2010, 04:28 PM) *
I've found it's impossible to be more human than human. Inhuman, however, is easy.



Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DuPz0r
post Jul 15 2009, 09:16 AM
Post #3


Still Standing
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 1,433
Joined: 3-August 04
From: London, England
Member No.: 439
PSN Name: BushkaUK



Do you even know what type of DDR Ram you need? Aria is cheap for computer components.

This post has been edited by DuPz0r: Jul 15 2009, 09:17 AM


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Qdeathstar
post Jul 15 2009, 12:32 PM
Post #4


My Penis, Your ass. Lets go.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 420
Joined: 2-August 04
From: Virginia Beach
Member No.: 14



from the PC he has, google says DDR 2


--------------------

Seether - Country Song
Download Now

QUOTE (Massacre @ Aug 26 2010, 04:28 PM) *
I've found it's impossible to be more human than human. Inhuman, however, is easy.



Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Banana Boy
post Jul 15 2009, 03:20 PM
Post #5


Litterer


Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 9-August 08
From: Honkers Liberty City
Member No.: 42,438



since this is a CPU intensive game, what would be better? getting more ram and graphics card and/or replace the motherboard with better outfittings, or just buy a new computer with my specs?


--------------------

Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PabloHoneyOle
post Jul 15 2009, 03:36 PM
Post #6


Boss
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 1,285
Joined: 6-May 08
Member No.: 40,397



I'd go for a new computer.

Otherwise, go with the (2) 2GB sticks.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Qdeathstar
post Jul 15 2009, 10:53 PM
Post #7


My Penis, Your ass. Lets go.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 420
Joined: 2-August 04
From: Virginia Beach
Member No.: 14



new pc probably...


--------------------

Seether - Country Song
Download Now

QUOTE (Massacre @ Aug 26 2010, 04:28 PM) *
I've found it's impossible to be more human than human. Inhuman, however, is easy.



Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Jul 19 2009, 12:14 AM
Post #8


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



Judging by your specs in the Dell Documentation, you are probably running windows XP. As Qdeathstar pointed out, XP can't recognize more than 2... maaaaybe 3 GB max. Besides that, I don't think upgrading your RAM alone will get you the performance you're looking for. A pentium 4 doesn't fair too well against the CPUs available now. More important that that, you have onboard video which is not good at all for gaming. Flight simulator is CPU and graphics intensive. You are better off getting a new PC. Mainly because you would pretty much have to replace everything in the PC anyway. Secondly, you only have a 304 watt power supply, which I doubt will be able to support a new motherboard, beefed up CPU, graphics card, and extra RAM.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TwoFacedTanner
post Jul 19 2009, 12:17 AM
Post #9


Clepto
*

Group: Members
Posts: 154
Joined: 21-August 04
From: Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Member No.: 908
XBL Gamertag: IanCredible988



Whoa whoa, is that why when I downgraded from Vista, my PC went from a 4gig max to a 2gig.

Damn.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ConQueSteD
post Jul 19 2009, 02:30 AM
Post #10


Bukkake?
Group Icon

Group: Princess
Posts: 165
Joined: 17-February 08
From: United States.
Member No.: 38,555
XBL Gamertag: ConQueSteD TZA
PSN Name: ConQueSteD



QUOTE(TwoFacedTanner @ Jul 18 2009, 08:17 PM) [snapback]1513572[/snapback]
Whoa whoa, is that why when I downgraded from Vista, my PC went from a 4gig max to a 2gig.

Damn.


If i was you i'd reupgrade. other wise that other 2gb of ram is wasted.


--------------------
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Qdeathstar
post Jul 20 2009, 10:00 PM
Post #11


My Penis, Your ass. Lets go.
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 420
Joined: 2-August 04
From: Virginia Beach
Member No.: 14



you need to upgrade to vista 64bit to be able to use >3 gigs.


--------------------

Seether - Country Song
Download Now

QUOTE (Massacre @ Aug 26 2010, 04:28 PM) *
I've found it's impossible to be more human than human. Inhuman, however, is easy.



Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 08:08 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4