IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> PS3 Problem
ENVi3
post Nov 2 2008, 03:27 AM
Post #1


Numbers Runner
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 262
Joined: 3-August 04
From: KCMO
Member No.: 262



my friend has PS3 that has quit working recently.
what happens is, you can start it up and it makes the usual beep, and the little animated background comes up and the PS3 start-up sound plays ... but the XMB doesn't show up
at the point, you can press the PS button and the "Turn Off System" and "Turn off Controller" options come up.
if you pick "Turn off System", the system beeps 3 times (like when it's a force shut down), and the screen goes black but the PS3 never actually turns off, unless you hit the switch in the back.
He says he doesn't know what he could have done wrong, except maybe unplug it when it was on.
it's fairly new too ... i cant remember how long he's had it but its not more than half a year.

any ideas what it could be, or what he should do?


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ENVi3
post Nov 2 2008, 12:58 PM
Post #2


Numbers Runner
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 262
Joined: 3-August 04
From: KCMO
Member No.: 262



never mind.
he told me he remembered he got the warranty from the store, so he'll just take it back and get a new one.


he got a new one, and it has the same problem, and he brought it over to my house and i basically unplugged my plugs off my PS3 and put them into his new one ... and same problem.
can u say wtf ?

This post has been edited by X_ENVi3-_-: Nov 3 2008, 02:38 AM


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ex-PS Fanboy
post Nov 4 2008, 04:32 PM
Post #3


Get off my Planet
********

Group: Members
Posts: 841
Joined: 25-November 06
From: The Dirty Shwa
Member No.: 33,730
XBL Gamertag: CFO Charles
PSN Name: PS-FANBOY1



QUOTE(X_ENVi3-_- @ Nov 2 2008, 12:58 PM) [snapback]1470540[/snapback]
can u say wtf ?


wtf.

but serously not sure, just keep gettin replacements, maybe Sony released a defective batch or something?

This post has been edited by PS FANBOY: Nov 4 2008, 04:32 PM
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Nov 4 2008, 06:04 PM
Post #4


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



When Sony sends a replacement it's a remanufactured unit. They get one like his, they fix it, test it and then send it out to fulfill a RMA. It could have been damaged during shipping, although it's weird that they both have the same exact problem. Call Sony up and explain it all to them. Tell them you tried it out in your house which means it can't have anything to do with his setup at home. Tell them you also used the cables from your PS3 to make sure it wasn't an issue with that. Sony will send out another one if that's the case.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ex-PS Fanboy
post Nov 5 2008, 04:44 PM
Post #5


Get off my Planet
********

Group: Members
Posts: 841
Joined: 25-November 06
From: The Dirty Shwa
Member No.: 33,730
XBL Gamertag: CFO Charles
PSN Name: PS-FANBOY1



you could try an get it repaired.

When mine crashed i took it in and they gave me a choice to either have it repaired or to get a replacement.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ENVi3
post Nov 6 2008, 03:41 AM
Post #6


Numbers Runner
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 262
Joined: 3-August 04
From: KCMO
Member No.: 262



QUOTE(FrankCastle @ Nov 4 2008, 12:04 PM) [snapback]1470716[/snapback]
When Sony sends a replacement it's a remanufactured unit. They get one like his, they fix it, test it and then send it out to fulfill a RMA. It could have been damaged during shipping, although it's weird that they both have the same exact problem.
He went to Best Buy and got it replaced. what sucks is the original one was the MGS4 bundle and when he got the new one they didn't give it back to him.
I've e-mailed Sony and they just sent me links for their troubleshooting pages.
i guess a call would have to be done.


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Nov 6 2008, 03:55 AM
Post #7


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



Yeah, the only way Sony resolves problems like that is over the phone, and unfortunately their phone support is hard to get through to sometimes.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gamerguy45
post Dec 17 2008, 04:26 AM
Post #8


Upstanding Citizen


Group: New Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-November 08
Member No.: 44,396



yeah i recon they had a bad batch and because they always referb one thats similar to yours it probably had the same prob so yeah send it back again.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ENVi3
post Dec 23 2008, 02:08 AM
Post #9


Numbers Runner
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 262
Joined: 3-August 04
From: KCMO
Member No.: 262



believe it or not but it was the internet that somehow interfered.
i have no idea how or why it only affected that PS3 or why it started doing it so suddenly but, whenever there was no internet (wireless) it would work fine, and when there was that sloppy start up would happen.
I've seen my friend playing it now, but he just doesn't get online.


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankCastle
post Feb 16 2009, 05:37 PM
Post #10


Upstanding Citizen


Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 7-January 07
From: NYC
Member No.: 34,440



QUOTE(X_ENVi3-_- @ Dec 22 2008, 09:08 PM) [snapback]1476185[/snapback]
believe it or not but it was the internet that somehow interfered.
i have no idea how or why it only affected that PS3 or why it started doing it so suddenly but, whenever there was no internet (wireless) it would work fine, and when there was that sloppy start up would happen.
I've seen my friend playing it now, but he just doesn't get online.


That's still a defect though, you shouldn't have to turn off the WiFi. I would send it back to get a replacement.
Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ENVi3
post Feb 17 2009, 04:28 AM
Post #11


Numbers Runner
Group Icon

Group: Gold Member
Posts: 262
Joined: 3-August 04
From: KCMO
Member No.: 262



its been a while, and oddly enough that problem just went away.


--------------------


Achievements
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 03:32 AM

GTA 5 | GTA San Andreas | Red Dead Redemption | GTA 4